Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bleeding and bruised Bill took Gabrielle’s arm and asked, “Dead? What the hell does that mean?”

“Oh, sorry,” she responded. “It’s your name. Bill Finger was a writer. He wrote the-”

“-First Bat-Man story back in 1939! Wow. Most people don’t know that. They think Bob Kane created Bruce Wayne.”

“Most folks don’t go to Comic Cons. I used to go as Mariko Yashida before I lost my eyesight, now I go as Julia Carpenter.”

“Spider Woman, huh? Yeah, I can see that. Right size, blind. And strong. The way you picked me up after knocking me down was amazing.”

“Yeah. Sorry about that. Life’s harder when you can’t see.”

“I bet. Too bad we come from different universes.”

“Pardon?”

“Well you’re Marvel and my cousin was DC.”

“Bill Finger was your cousin? How cool is that.”

“Not first cousin. Second cousin twice removed? We never met. So, do you prefer being a Japanese super villain or Arachne?”

“Hmmm. I’m not sure. I just figured that being blind I might as well go all in. My husband liked to go with me as Thor but lately we switched places and he’s been going as Charles Xavier.”

“Looks like Batman is odd man out.”

“Marvel does seem to rule the roost, huh? Uhm, rude question; how old are you?”

“My mother said you should never ask a lady her age, but I’m no lady. I’ll be 62 when summer ends with Labor Day. How about you? Or are you a lady?”

“Ha! My mother would tell you I certainly am not! I’m 35. No offense, you just seemed a bit- what’s the word? -‘mature’ for graphic novels.”

Bill had smiled and said, “If we get to know one another you’ll learn that I’m anything but mature.”

