Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Bill extended his arm to Gabrielle and said, “Take my arm and I’ll get us over to the Blue Line; okay?”

In response Gabrielle extended her hand until she contacted him, and then rested her hand in the crook of his elbow. “Lead on, Caped Crusader.”

Walking forward he said, “I’m really more the Bruce Wayne type.”

“Oh, yeah? As in super rich, or more just dark past?”

“Well, both. But not on the same scale. My parents weren’t killed by criminals, my wife was. White collar ones. I lost the woman I treasured most but I got Judas’ thirty pieces of silver a thousand fold. Let’s talk Comic Con, okay? You going to San Diego this year?”

“Wow! You weren’t kidding about being a graphic novel sort of guy, were you? I think so. We have our tickets and reservations but it gets complicated. Know how I said I went from Mariko Yashida to Julia Carpenter when I went blind? Well Adriel went from Thor to Charles Xavier the same way.”

“That’s your husband? Adriel? I don’t know that I’ve ever heard that name before.”

“Yeah, it’s different. Biblical. Adriel was a good guy but he got caught in the wrong place at the wrong time. Kind of like Abraham and Isaac but Yahweh forgot to holler down, ‘Whoa, whoa, whoa! Hang on there! I was just kidding!’ like he did for Daddy and son. First Samuel if you want the whole story. Reads like a graphic novel but I’m not sure who the good guys are.”

“I’ll have to look it up. I assume your Adriel is in a wheelchair but doesn’t have Professor X’s psionic powers?”

“Roger that. He has Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, ALS.”

“Wait, that’s Lou Gehrig’s, right?”

“Yep. He made it famous.”

“My dad used to talk about Lou Gehrig; may he rest in peace. Watched him play when he lived in New York.” The lights at the end of the METRO tunnel flashed and Bill checked his watch. “Train’s coming. It’s about 2:30 by the way, in case you’re wondering about meeting your party at Arlington.”

“Thanks,” Gabrielle replied. “He’ll wait for me.”

