Tags

, , , , , , ,

Bill was waiting for her when she stepped off the train at Reagan. “Gabrielle!” he hollered, “Hey! Julia! Mariko!”

Gabrielle’s head shot up and she cocked her left ear skyward to get a better view of her surroundings. She stepped away from the car and felt Bill’s hand on her elbow. “Mr. Wayne, I presume?” she asked.

“None other,” he laughed. “Thanks for turning around to see me. I hate hanging out in airports, especially one so close to home but there was no sense in getting on the METRO to arrive home and then come straight back. Here,” he said, placing her hand on his elbow, “let’s take the escalator down and then we can grab something to eat?”

“Sure, that would be fine,” she said, acceding to his gentle pressure. “How much time do we have?”

“At least an hour and a half. I just got another update via text. Ain’t technology great? Do you like sushi? There’s a place that’s pretty good that you don’t have to go through security to get to.”

“Did you just ask a descendant of the god-emperor if she likes sushi?” Gabrielle asked haughtily, “One of my father’s men would kill you if he learned of this insult!” she laughed.

“Hmmm. I think we need to establish who I’m taking to dinner; Gabrielle, Julia Cornwell Carpenter or Mariko Yashida.”

“How pedestrian, Mr. Wayne but I guess it is hard to have a conversation with three women at once, especially when we all look the same. Mariko will not be joining us. I really wish I was Arachne, maybe then I could figure out a way to help my new friend.”

“Is that the gal you mentioned in your text? The one you said is a young widow? I assume you met her at Arlington?”

“Good deduction, oh great detective. She just turned 18, her husband was killed in action and her father-in-law is raping her. I think Arachne and Batman should team up and open a can of whoop ass on the son of a bitch.”

