Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Arash! Arash! Slow down,” Bill shouted into his phone. “Tell me what’s going on. Where is Abbas?”

“Dead. Abbas is dead. I’m sorry, Mr. Finger I think we may have been the cause of the blood shed. I think perhaps the Jund al-Aqsa thought we were Turkish forces. They opened fire on our boat and captured the relief boat that your son was on. Uzgunum. I am so sorry.”

“Captured? So Sean is still alive? Start at the beginning, Arash. Where are you? What has happened? Where is my son?”

“Karatas. I am in Karatas. Barely. It is a port city in southern Turkey. Your son set off in a boat for Syria. We think Arsuz. Jund al-Aqsa had refugees that they were trying to get into Turkey. We were following from a distance but the rebels must have seen us and panicked. They strafed our boat. Abbas was killed. Martyred. I was barely able to return to port.”

“But you think Sean is alive?”

“I think that likely. As I said Abbas thinks, thought, they were meeting Jund al-Aqsa in Arsuz. It is close to Turkey and that is what our intelligence told us.”

“I am sorry for Abbas. Please send me some information about his family and I will see what I can do to help them. And If you can help me now there is a bonus for you. I know this is difficult but I need you to focus on Sean and what you know.”

“Yes, Mr. Finger, I understand. I know that he was meeting Jund al-Aqsa and they are supposed to be neutral in the war. Of course neutral does not mean non-violent, especially in Syria. Sean was on his way with two others to rescue refugees and bring them to Turkey. The Jund al-Aqsa captured their boat and commandeered it. He was alive when I saw him. There is room for hope, Mr. Finger.”

