Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Gabrielle rested her head on Bill’s shoulder and lightly draped her arms around him. “How did this all happen? You told me months ago that your son was doing relief work in Turkey and I know Jenny was upset when he left but I guess I just figured that was a girl in love who’d already lost one man to war in the middle-east. I heard most of your call last night but I couldn’t make out everything the man on the other end was saying.”

“Arash. Abbas’ English is, was, much easier to understand but I suppose being shot at and watching your friend get ripped in half by machine-gun fire would make anyone hard to understand. Thank God he made it and thank God that he got word to me. I’m flying to Turkey late tonight.”

“Do you think that’s wise? I’m sorry. I know Sean is your son and you’d do anything for him but what can you do there?”

“You might be amazed by what I can do. I have connections and money. Hell, I’m Bruce Wayne, remember? I need to do something and I think I can be a lot more effective the closer I am.”

“Just be careful. You’re not that…. I mean, just be careful.”

Bill pulled his head away from Gabrielle’s and looked at her with a smirk. He filled in the end of her sentence with, ‘young anymore,’ but he didn’t say it out loud. “I’ll be careful. You sound like you’re worried about me.”

“Of course I’m worried about you. You’re a very dear friend to me, Mr. Wayne.”

“After last night I hope I’m more than just a friend. I think I’m in love with you, Gabrielle.”

Gabrielle’s head jerked but she immediately laid it back at rest. “Don’t say that, Bill. Please don’t. I love my husband. He means the world to me. I didn’t mean to imply any promises. Adriel gave me permission to stray but I’d sooner die than leave him. I hope you understand?”

Bill hugged her to him. “Must be the afterglow talking. After all, I’m not that young anymore, am I? Hell, I’m probably old enough to be your father.”

“I guess. But if you don’t mind would you show me where the bathroom is? And then if you’re up to it I’d love for you to take me to bed.”