Tags

, , , , , , ,

Gabrielle returned to her table unassisted. “Forgive me for not standing,” her husband’s voder produced voice said.

She smiled, found his forehead, kissed it and asked, “How long have you been sitting on that one?”

Their server Amber arrived at their table and placed their food before them. “Okay, that’s two roasted vegetable flatbreads. Is there anything else I can get for you?”

“A working body?” Adriel retorted.

“Pardon?”

“Nothing, Miss. My husband thought he was making a joke. Thank you.”

“Oh-kay. Bon apatite.”

“She did ask,” Adriel said once Amber was out of hearing range.

“Yes, dear. Here, have some more beer. Uhm, are you okay? Bladder wise I mean?”

Lowering his voder volume he replied, “Emptied it while you were gone. Do you smell something? I always worry about the smell but if you don’t notice anything then I doubt anyone else could.”

“No, no smell. I’m sorry, lover. I’ll clean you as soon as were home. I know how easily your skin gets irritated down there.”

“Yes. ‘Great balls of fire,’ has a whole new meaning to me but it was a choice we both made. Feed me please? This smells delicious.”

Gabrielle happily complied with her husband’s request, feeding both of them and plying him with beer as she drank her wine.

“I was looking at the Ocata Site while you were gone,” he said. “I’m feeling really optimistic about this.”

“Let’s not get ahead of ourselves, okay? Would you like another beer?”

“I would but I think I should get home and cleaned up.”

Returning to their table Amber asked, “How was everything? Can I, I mean, would you like some dessert or another drink?”

“No thank you,” Adriel replied. “Just the bill please.”

Amber laid the bill in the center of the table and said, “I’ll take care of that when you’re ready. Have a nice day.”

“Thank you. You too,” Gabrielle answered. “How much is it, sweetie?”

“Not enough. She forgot our drinks. I don’t suppose it would be sporting of us to dine and dash?”

“Let’s not; I’m wearing heels.”

When Amber returned Gabrielle said, “I think you forgot to add our drinks to the bill.”

“Oh! Right! Thanks, but that’s all taken care of. The man who was sitting one table over said the drinks were on him. Regular customer named Bill Finger.”

