Tags

, , , , , , ,

Adriel was confused by his server’s answer. “Paid for our drinks? You mean the old guy that was sitting catty corner to us?”

Amber nodded and said, “Yep. Nice old guy; comes in here a lot. Generous tipper. I thought he knew you. Anyway, the drinks were on him. Would you like to take care of this now?” she asked, nodding at the bill.

“Yes please,” Gabrielle responded quickly, pulling out a credit card. “Uhm, did he tip on the drinks?”

“Yes, thanks for asking! I just figured he knew you because I don’t remember him buying drinks for people before. Maybe it was because- Oh. Never mind,” she said, blushing scarlet. “I’ll be right back.”

“Do you think she started to say, ‘Maybe it’s because you’re a couple of crips and he felt sorry for you?’” Adriel asked once Amber was around the corner.

“Don’t be so resentful,” his wife chided. “Who knows why? It was nice of him, wasn’t it?”

“Yeah, it was. I told you he was staring at you. Maybe he had the hots for you. Or you reminded him of his granddaughter.”

“Don’t you mean daughter? He’s old enough to be my father, not my grandfather.”

“How do you know how old he is? I mean, you’re probably right, I don’t think he was seventy yet but you look so young he might have pegged you for a teenager.”

“Drinking wine? In a bar? Probably thought you were a disabled veteran.”

“That could be it. Too bad I couldn’t tell him I’m more of a veteran of being disabled.”

Amber returned with Gabrielle’s credit card, said, “Here you go! Thanks!” and turned from the table. Gabrielle added a tip, tallied, signed the bill and left a copy behind.

“Well, this has been an exciting morning, hasn’t it?” she asked.

“Yep. Date out on the town with my best gal, met a cool young dude, pretty good exam with ol’ Doc Theia, might get you some eyesight back, free drinks and now homeward we go. I don’t know about you but I’m exhausted.”

“I could use a nap myself. Right after we get you cleaned up. I don’t want to hear you singing Jerry Lee Lewis all day.”

“Fine. Rolling, rolling, rolling. Let’s get this wheelchair rolling. My balls they are a straining. Raw hide!”

“That’s what I like about you, sweetie. Always so classy.”

 

