Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Checking her watch Jenny rose from the kitchen table and said, “Well, kiddies, I’ve got to get back to work. Is it okay if I leave the clean-up up to you if I leave the left-overs?”

“Deal,” Adriel responded.

“Great of him to agree when I’m the one who’s going to be doing the clean-up, huh?” Gabrielle answered.

“Typical man. Just good for heavy lifting and stud work. Love you guys,” she replied as she hugged Adriel in his wheelchair and then Gabrielle. “I’ll let you know as soon as I get any word on Sean and you call me when you get back from Philadelphia. Deal?”

“Deal,” Adriel repeated. “Thanks for bringing us lunch.”

“No worries. Nice to have the company. Good luck on Friday! Chow!”

As Jenny left through the front door Adriel asked, “Tough all over, isn’t it?”

“Seems like. I’m glad she came over,” she said, clearing the table. “It was nice telling somebody our good news.”

“Potential god news. I think optimism is important but how many people were in the first trial? Sixteen?”

“Yeah, yeah but this one is much larger. I’ve got a good feeling.”

“Me, too. I just want our good feeling to be rooted in reality, you know?”

“Yes, ‘Daddy.’”

“Ha, ha. If Sean does go to trial we should try to be there for him. For Jenny I mean.”

‘This double life stuff is getting crazier and crazier,’ she thought. ‘Too many intersecting circles.’ “Well, that’s a good idea but there’s no telling where the trial will be. I mean, it’s not like they’ll hold it at the Montgomery County Courthouse.”

“They won’t?”

“Probably not. They could transfer him to another facility and it is a Federal case so the trial could be in a totally different State. We’ll have to play it by ear.”

“That’s too bad. I think she could use some support.”

“Yes, there’s no doubt about that. Heaven knows she’s had enough turmoil in her life and it’s crazy how it swirls around the Middle-East, huh?”

“Kind of like us and disease. Who’d have thought two people with debilitating conditions would wind up together?”

“Do you wish we hadn’t?”

“Are you kidding me? You are by far the best thing that’s ever happened to me. I just wish we had another sixteen years together.”

Gabrielle stopped cleaning, pointed her head directly toward her husband and said, “Amen to that. And then another 32.”

