Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Getting from the Montgomery County Courthouse to Bar Louie was practically a straight shot north up Hungerford Drive. Lunch was always busy so Bill called ahead with an order.

He was greeted with the inevitable, “Thank you for calling Bar Louie, how may I help you?”

“Jewels? Bill Finger here. I’m on my way and should be there in five. Could you find me a table for one and have a Moscato and a Monaco Chicken Salad waiting for me, please?”

“Of course, Mr. Finger. If there’s not a table available may I seat you at a high boy?”

“Sure, sure. The bar’s fine if necessary. Oh! Add a tall glass of water too, please.”

“Will do. I’ll get your order to a server.”

“Thanks, Jewels,” he said, disconnecting from his hands free car phone.

Punching the call button on his dash console he said, “Phone Freja Marnie.”

After three rings he heard her distinctly Danish diction say, “Mr. Finger. I thought perhaps I would hear from you today.”

“You know me too well, Freja. Yes, I heard from Gabrielle a little after eleven, said she had an appointment set up for an exam with you for this Friday?”

“Did she? Of course Dr. Regillo will be conducting the examination, I’m, what is the term you Americans use? Oh, yes. ‘Second banana.’ I hope things work out for Mrs. Gibeon but I’m more of a doctor doubling as an administrative assistant. Her selection will have to rise or fall on its merits.”

“Oh, of course!” Bill responded, thinking, ‘Way to cover your Danish ass.’ “I wouldn’t want it any other way. Though I’m sure Dr. Regillo relies on you heavily.”

“In many ways yes, but not in subject selection. We need to keep the finances and the selection process separate. For ethical reasons. I’m sure you understand.”

‘Do I ever.’ “I wouldn’t want it any other way. I’ll let you go, I just wanted to say thanks.”

“Of course. You are very welcome. I hope she makes it.”

‘You and me both, sister,’ he thought as he disconnected.

