Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Even under normal circumstances Gabrielle was not one to turn on lights; being blind what good would they do for her? Entering her house she closed her front door leaving Officer Davies fuming on her front step. She then made a bee-line to her bedroom where she was certain that her anguished husband lay waiting for her. “Oh, Adriel,” she called out in the darkness, “I’m so sorry, sweetie!”

Adriel’s answer was a moan that conveyed myriad emotions simultaneously. She sat on the bed and nestled his head in her lap. “Sweetie, sweetie, sweetie,” she whispered, stroking his brow. “I’m so sorry to have worried you. I’m okay. There was some bad shit that almost happened but everything’s fine; I swear it.

“I think we’re going to have to get you up so you’ll know what’s going on but first I want to tell you what’s happened without any lights on, then we’ll get you going and you can ask any questions that you need.

“I couldn’t sleep so I went for a walk. Three drunk assholes thought they were going to have fun with me but I got away from them no problem. At least, no problem getting away.

“I was running and I hit something hard and went flying. I hit my head so there’s blood but we’ll get to that in a minute.

“Here’s the funny part, Duvan was walking home from the bus-stop and saw the whole thing. He didn’t know it was me but he called 911 right away and then he started chasing me, to help, you know?

“So I hit the pavement, lost consciousness and then when I came to I thought the attackers were back and I grabbed poor Duvan and slammed his head into the ground so we’re both bloody!

“Like I said he’d already called 911 and then he found my phone and called you. When you didn’t answer he called someone else.

“He called Bill Finger, who turns out to be a friend of his.

“Shit! Duvan said Bill was on his way! Crap! Let me call and stop him and then we’ll get you presentable for company and get you in your chair.

“Oh, Adriel! I’m so, so sorry!”

