Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In theory five drinks over the course of four hours should leave a 160 pound man slightly buzzed, not drunk. The problem with this theory is defining what “five” drinks is. The three White Russians Bill guzzled earlier easily contained six ounces of alcohol and the two he had after midnight likely contained slightly greater firepower than had the first three. When his phone again rang Bill was decidedly more into his drink, and therefor even more discombobulated, than he had been with Gabrielle’s first call.

“Gabrielle?” he mumbled into the phone.

“Mister Finger! Gracias a Dios! No, no! Esto no es Gabrielle. It is I, Duvan Diaz.”

“Wait. What? Duvan?”

“Si! Gabrielle necesita ayuda! Can you help?”

“Whoa, whoa, whoa,” Bill said into the phone looking at it cross eyed. “You need to slow down and speak English, amigo. What, what, what, what’s going on? Why do you have Gabrielle’s phone?”

“Lo siento. Sorry. Listen please. Gabrielle needs your help. She was attacked by some men. I saw it but could not help. She ran away but fell and now is inconsciente, uhm, knocked out! I found her phone so that I could call her husband. I called her husband, her Adriel, but he did not answer. You were her second ICE number.”

“Attacked? Gabrielle’s knocked out? Did you call 911?”

“Yes, yes. Right away when I saw the attack. But when she got away she started to run and I followed. She was running very fast and hit something. I could not even keep up with her. She is out cold. The ambulance should be on their way but she needs help. Will you come?”

“Okay, listen. Yes, yes. I’ll come. Where is she? Where are you?”

“Near the bus stop by her house. Off Redland Road? I’m not sure. I can find out.”

“Redland Road? So you’re close to her house, right?”

“If you say so. I met them the first time at a bus stop close by. We are not close friends, I do not know where they live.”

“Okay. That’s okay. I’m on my way. I’m not far, less than twenty miles. I’ll be there in half an hour, tops. You stay with her! Keep her safe until the cops come!”

Wide awake, naked save for his robe and decidedly drunk Bill flew into action.

 

