Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I been used, abused and put away wet
Who’ll spit on me next is anyone’s guess
Don’t know the reason, can’t tell you why
My life as a movie would make grown men cry

Woman who bore was Mom till day she died
Sterling example of lioness’ pride
Worked hard for family in good times and bad
She passed at ninety, young death made me sad

She left me alone in big, cold, cruel place
Fear for my future it showed on my face
Mommy had always directed my days
Loved and protected in a million ways

Twas she cooked dinner, made breakfast and lunch
Any small problem to her I would rush
Took care of banking, did our laundry too
Perfect example of maternal due

My hard existence was earning the dough
On three days weekly to work I would go
Sat at a counter in summer like heat
Praise be for AC! Kept me dry and neat

Filled leisure hours just watching Boob-Tube
Viewed sports ad nauseam; went down mighty smooth
Lived life of a prince from my royal throne
King in his castle in my mama’s home

I been used, abused and put away wet
Who’ll spit on me next is anyone’s guess
Don’t know the reason, can’t tell you why
My life as a movie would make grown men cry

Gave a big funeral ’cause I’m loving son
Mom paid expenses, decisions all done
Urn she provided, mausoleum’s wall
Sit down reception, Mom paid for it all

My heart it did grieve, I went on with life
Sweet Mother I missed and prayed day and night
Longed for antidote from my heartfelt pain
“Dear Lord,” I uttered, “who in Heaven reigns,”

“Won’t you please provide, to me, acolyte,
A woman to keep me all day and night?
In Jesus’ name pray for deliverance.”
Slept by TV awaiting recompense.

It wasn’t next day nor month after that
Answer to my prayers was feather in hat
Lovely young lady I met at our church
Wooed her with passion and all that I’m worth

Holy betrothal was both sweet and short
Nixed big church wedding; we married at court
It wasn’t long before I realized
A mama I’d lost but married a bride

I been used, abused and put away wet
Who’ll spit on me next is anyone’s guess
Don’t know the reason, can’t tell you why
My life as a movie would make grown men cry

Chores she divided, now had his -n- hers
Previous arrangement she said was absurd
“A marriage is more than waiting on you.
Labor division shows that love is true.”

Thought she was joking, I started to laugh
Invective she gave made me embarrassed
“You think it’s funny? I’m not your servant!
Love and cherishing should never affront.”

“I’ll be loyal mate the rest of my life,
You hired no maid, you married a wife!”
I was astonished at words that she said,
“My mama loved me; made sure I was fed.”

Expression she made I once again blushed
The words that she spoke came out in a rush
“I hate to do it, speak ill of the dead:
Way that she raised you? As to manner bred?”

“No credit to her the man you’ve become,
You’re gentle and sweet but lazy and dumb!
The brain that you’ve got’s like muscle that’s weak
Your mama did that, she produced a freak.”

I been used, abused and put away wet
Who’ll spit on me next is anyone’s guess
Don’t know the reason, can’t tell you why
My life as a movie would make grown men cry

“With fifty-five years still act like a boy
At first it was cute but now it annoys.
So starting right now free ride it ends here.
Understand meaning? Am I loud and clear?”

I stood dumbfounded, knew not what to say
My once smiling bride had turned the world gray
Started to protest but she cut me off
“There’s no debate here, so just shut your mouth.”

“You want sycophant but that’s not my job
A man you’ll become; no longer a slob.”
Program she started and I toed the line,
Just followed commands and got along fine.

A month it did pass and then it was two
One night took my hand said, “Done with grade school.
‘Cause starting today for rest of our lives?
Bill paying job’s yours, for it I despise.”

Like deer in headlights my eyes got real big
Whined, “I know nothing ’bout bill paying jig.”
First she smiled, then shrugged; New Me? Molded clay.
Next I was working some nights and most days.

I been used, abused and put away wet
Who’ll spit on me next is anyone’s guess
Don’t know the reason, can’t tell you why
My life as a movie would make grown men cry

My transformation continued in fits
Soon contributed brawn and equal wit
Idyllic lifestyle I once had enjoyed
Now gone forever; I’m fully employed.

Advancements I made were quite new to me
Mama’d provided existence carefree
With repetition fin’lly came around
Ship handling skills; no running aground

Might think I’d be proud of stunning advance
But though it is true I now know life’s dance
Would trade it all in for my former days
As sweet mama’s boy who frolicked and played

Recalling exchange of Ma for a wife
I humbly agree now have better life
Still I do daydream of regal splendor
Now gone forever of that bride assures

That is the story of learning to stand
On my own two feet like a grown-ass-man
When I write novel; autobi’graphy?
Men’s tears will flow in sincere sympathy.

I been used, abused and put away wet
Who’ll spit on me next is anyone’s guess
Don’t know the reason, can’t tell you why
My life as a movie would make grown men cry

Man crying

