Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My daddy didn’t like Shakespeare, thought he was kinda queer
Wrote sonnets to other men, attractions beyond Dad’s ken
Never did he see the light, how that old Bard got so much right
Loved him past the day Dad died, still long for him by my side

Love’s a most powerful thing, turns despots nice makes devils sing
Don’t give me no litmus test, put your prejudice out to rest
Seven colors in the rainbow, white light through prisms lets ‘em show
Great value in diversity, don’t need no philosophical degrees

Love your brother as you do yourself, earth’s greatest commandment, it’s top shelf!
If we all sing in the same key there’s no place for harmony
Wearing Yarmulkes or hijabs makes folks neither good nor bad
Do they sow seeds of love or curse in name of God above?

Unto others is Golden Rule No need to act a fool
When a stranger comes into our strange land, offer him a welcoming hand
Though his clothes may seem absurd may not speak single intelligible word
We’re all brothers under the skin time to let love’s feast begin

Words are easy, acts are hard, let’s take a tip from old Bard
“I will be deaf to pleading and excuses; Nor tears nor prayers shall purchase out abuses”
Words from Sixteenth Century, way past time it seems to me
To act on our more exquisite natures let’s not cut our own throats on Ockham’s Razor

Simplest answers often quite right, must increasing discontent be our plight?
Let us walk hand in hand, as loving girls, boys, women and men
Psalms of hope and songs of joy each of us must now employ
Lifting voices to the skies and with our works make angels sigh

It’s a job that we must do, no slacking for me or you
In this world silence is consent, must express our discontent
My daddy didn’t like Shakespeare, but he held the Bible proud and dear
We’ve all notions of right and wrong, all need values to keep us strong
But different is not always bad, need to accept our new comrades

My daddy didn’t like Shakespeare, thought he was kinda queer
Wrote sonnets to other men, attractions beyond Dad’s ken
Never did he see the light, how that old Bard got so much right
Loved him past the day Dad died, still long for him by my side

My daddy didn’t like Shakespeare, but he held the Bible proud and dear
My daddy didn’t like Shakespeare, my daddy didn’t like Shakespeare
My daddy didn’t like Shakespeare, but he held the Bible proud and dear
My daddy didn’t like Shakespeare, my daddy didn’t like Shakespeare

West Bank Children

