Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Flashed and burned, tossed and scared, on our little dingy boat
With intrepid courage and skill we might just stay afloat

A storm appeared across the sea, I headed for dry land
Bright lightning flashed ferociously; feared that I might drown
Tranquil blue so quick did turn: Cacophony of sound
In fugue state did I retreat, my fear it knew no bounds

My young companion for the trip looked into my eyes
My heart was beating lightning quick, my fears I chose to hide
In my hands I held the fate of two: Self and first-mate
Trepidation cast aside for sailor barely eight

The look of fear in my son’s eyes I knew I must assuage
Assumed false air of confidence, while the sea did rage
“Boy, hold on tight!” did I command, sounding captainly
“We’ll have adventure on the waves, just don’t tell mama, please”

My frantic palpitations I had to set aside
Toward beach pointed as I hollered, “We’re going for a ride!”
Our little boat was thrown and tossed: Still did venture on
With manic grins we two did sing Disney pirate song

“Yo-ho, yo-ho life for me!” was happy, loud refrain
Prayed not as charred, ignited, kindling we’d burst into flame
Interval between flash and boom half Mississippi
Smiled for my son’s sake, feared for our common fate

Water cascaded all about, there was no keeping dry
Drenching that we received came from below and on high
Though my soul was full of fear I tried not to appear uptight
Calm demeanor I displayed was anything but forthright

Eons passed, or so it seemed, before we made landfall
Out of our tiny minnow boat on sand we did crawl
Child who moments before had looked so mortified
Now upon the beach maniacally fist pumped the air

“That was great, Dad!” he did exclaim, with great eyes open wide
“Let’s come back here tomorrow? Go for another ride?”
I stood in muted wonder at this boy who is my son
Next time I’m cowed by thunder to this boy I shall run

A storm appeared across the sea, I headed for dry land
Bright lightning flashed ferociously; feared that I might drown
Tranquil blue so quick did turn: Cacophony of sound
In fugue state did I retreat, my fear it knew no bounds

Flashed and burned, tossed and scared, on our little dingy boat
With intrepid courage and skill we might just stay afloat

Father and son newfoundland

