Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I was born in Nation’s Heartland,
It was there that I was raised.
All my joyful boyhood memories
Are from Lincoln’s Land, give praise!
Michigan and Indiana,
Along with mighty Iowa
Have been my stomping grounds
It is there that I’ve been loved.
Midwest people do their damnedest
To honor words they say
And when worktime it is over
Those Midwest folks so love to play!

I prefer Central Time,
I prefer Central Time
Whole East Coast I say, “Screw it!”
I already done lived through it
I prefer Central Time!

When I was still a youngster
Just a year past age of nine
My daddy moved our family
Below Mason Dixon Line
Maryland was our new home
Just north of old DC
My outlook became jaded
With my change in geography

I prefer Central Time,
I prefer Central Time
Whole East Coast I say, “Screw it!”
I already done lived through it
I prefer Central Time!

I’ve roamed around this country
Old New England, Rebel South
Sampled many different flavors
Of what comes out of people’s mouths
Seen the work they’re doing
Promises they break
Outside of Nation’s Heartland
Witnessed less give and lots more take

I prefer Central Time,
I prefer Central Time
Whole East Coast I say, “Screw it!”
I already done lived through it
I prefer Central Time!

I left my frigid perch in
Eastern part of Hawkeye State
Moved down near Cape Canaveral
Where the winters are so great
Although it’s always hot here
Somehow it’s never warm
Feel like an army ant living like a drone

I prefer Central Time,
I prefer Central Time
Whole East Coast I say, “Screw it!”
I already done lived through it
I prefer Central Time!

grain-silo

