Tags

, , ,

Who am I kidding with my scribbled words?
Footnote that I’m creating smaller than obscure
Castles in the air keep me so remote
My created fairy-tales ain’t keeping me afloat

Is my head in the clouds or is it up my ass?
Not a single one of my dreams has yet come to pass
Got voices that holler at me every day
Though I write their dialogue can’t control what they say

Tamika and Misty, Joni and Deb
Women I created who’re stuck in my head
None of ‘em living but each of them so real
Their words and actions expressing how they feel

Memphis blues, Atlanta dreams, Chicago tears
Along with a mother’s deepest darkest fears
Tony Kneel, Joe Kleen, John Knopick, what do they say?
Each with their stories; plays within plays

Silly little word games designed to entertain
None of it is real, just made up by my brain
When daylight returns and we’re under that bright sun
No doubt I’ll end as I started with a zero sum

My mind is an imagination machine
I just follow the threads of my daydreams
Asking me not to conjure literary spells
Like telling a parched man, “Don’t draw water from the well!”

I am a simple scribe; scribble with all my might
I attack with pen rather than sharp sword flashing bright
Though I cut and dice, eviscerate with words
When my chopping’s done only thoughts have I disturbed

I have been a story weaver for many a year
All my stories leave bank account still in arears
Jesus tells us we live not on bread alone
Story writing makes me a king upon his throne

I decree laws, tell my subjects what to do
They’re defiant of authority just like me and you!
Maybe someday words that I write down
Will make you cry or laugh, be deemed funny or profound

Seems as though all I do is type and pray
Keep throwing out my stories hoping one day they’ll pay
Who would have guessed how lonely is the king?
As an Angelou caged bird, all I can do is sing

Who am I kidding with my scribbled words?
Footnote that I’m creating smaller than obscure
Castles in the air keep me so remote
My created fairy-tales ain’t keeping me afloat

