Tags

, , , , ,

By my bootstraps I have risen
Through sheer will escaped dark prison
All enter world on level field
In rise or fall’s how strength’s revealed

Started this life like so many
Advantages I had not any
As helpless babies all are born
Develop mettle facing storms

From my parents’ holy wedlock
I was blessed with gift of good stock
But I earned too nativity
By choosing parents carefully
I was born a full-term baby
Mom was careful prenatally
More examples of my wisdom
I will reveal to you shortly

North Koreans Dad did battle
So G.I. Bill paid for his school
This is what I mean by planning
I’m not yet born but I’m no fool

Moved away from crumbling city
To ‘burbs where streets are not so mean
I don’t recall this transition
At four-months-old had life serene
I had three squares and a good home
The school I walked to was drug free
Pretty clever for a youngster
You thoroughly impressed with me?

Had a little trouble learning
Both how to read and how to write
But two tutors parents hired
Soon my dyslexia did right

Even with a single decade
That had passed since I entered earth
Got all these bootstrap examples
That demonstrate superior worth

Each and every little detail
That I am laying down so true
Is demonstrating QED
That I’ve risen better than you

When time came around for college
That too went according to plan
Money that I’d earned in high school
Toward my tuition it now ran

Borrowed car I got from Mommy
Drove myself on daily commute
Room and board was given gratis
As education I pursued

Examples are quite abundant
How I succeeded all alone
Had not a single advantage
Ingrained work ethic was my own

So, all of you whining losers
Who piss and moan with a hand out
Look deep inside your lazy souls
And stop proclaiming your copouts

You come from the inner city?
Since sixteen you’ve been paying rent?
Your mama raised you on her own
And your future’s already spent?

Go rise up, rise up, as I did
It’s really easy if you try
In land of opportunity
You’re just letting your life slip by

By my bootstraps I have risen
Through sheer will escaped dark prison
All enter world on level field
In rise or fall’s how strength’s revealed

Started this life like so many
Advantages I had not any
As helpless babies all are born
Develop mettle facing storms

From my parents’ holy wedlock
I was blessed with gift of good stock
But I earned too nativity
By choosing parents carefully

I was born a full-term baby
Mom was careful prenatally
More examples of my wisdom
I will reveal to you shortly

