Tags

, , , , ,

Deliver me! Deliver me! Deliver me! Oh, deliver me!
Yesterday was strong but have now grown old
Hot fire of youth has long since grown cold
Fierce heart of champion’s now calcified
And shocks once minor now terrify
Deliver me! Deliver me! Deliver me! Oh, deliver me!

Age of demagogues is surely here
And rule of reason’s been replaced by fear
From every angle the end draws near
This quaking turmoil is mighty queer

There’s God the Father and God the Son
Fear Allah’s minions will blot western fun
So many call for a holy war
And evil pariahs are soup du’ jour

Populism, is seldom smart
Messiah you follow has a black heart
Solutions offered belong to scofflaw
His dazzling facet is huge chutzpah

There is such fear down in our bones
Look for a Caesar to rule our new Rome
Divide and conquer works oh so great
But it’s our brothers were told to hate

Deliver me! Deliver me! Deliver me! Oh, deliver me!
Yesterday was strong but have now grown old
Hot fire of youth has long since grown cold
Fierce heart of champions now calcified
And shocks once minor now terrify
Deliver me! Deliver me! Deliver me! Oh, deliver me!

Blood pressure’s rising but the DOW is down
Simple solutions posed by populist clowns
World is changing no denying that
Rich getting fitter, poor getting fat

Beware false prophets who swear that they
Through strength of will keep evil at bay
Complex problems developed over years
Can’t in a lifetime solve with jaunts and jeers

Panic keeps on turning, water never stops
Tsunami that’s on top of us is causing a land-rush
So, don’t get caught up in absurdity
No place for dictators in Land of The Free

Seems that it’s hatred that they’re selling
There always is great demand for that
But what they’re selling I’m not buying
And that’s a simple declaration of fact

Deliver me! Deliver me! Deliver me! Oh, deliver me!
Yesterday was strong but have now grown old
Hot fire of youth has long since grown cold
Fierce heart of champions now calcified
And shocks once minor now terrify
Deliver me! Deliver me! Deliver me! Oh, deliver me!

