Tags

, , , ,

Two legs that I stand on
suffer weakness and have atrophied.
With each day’s awakening,
new niggling stabs prick my side.

Know I’m not immortal,
but thought old age to delay.
These bones know cold of winter,
but long for warmth of May.

Folks you call Baby-Boomers,
are all getting long of tooth.
At mirrors stare in dumbfoundment,
as we mourn our long-lost youth.

Took vitality for granted,
though I nursed it lovingly.
When lifelong gift departed,
I was driven to my knees.

Now, with strength of newborn kitten
I must complete life’s tasks.
Physical incapacitation
is a curse that lasts.

I’m adjusting to the prison
of my fast decaying form.
Get no solace from Bell Curve
that says I’m still above the norm.

 The hips with which I boogied
and danced gleefully in the streets?
Now move like rusty Tinman’s
as they emit caterwauling shrieks.

Daily my knees now mock me,
as they dare me to kneel down.
Classic pose of supplication
causes me to curse and frown.

Air Supply back in seven-nine
sang a simple pop-song.
They sang of being lost in love
but it’s my youth that is all gone.

“You know you can’t fool me
I’ve been loving you too long
It started so easy
You want to carry on”

The curve of life gets steeper
every day seem to lose more ground.
Briny sea longs to engulf me
fear that soon I’m gonna drown.

But carry on I’m bound to,
until my dying day.
Just wish for these years of gold
my form wasn’t quite so frayed.

 Folks you call Baby-Boomers,
are all getting long of tooth.
At mirrors stare in dumbfoundment,
as we mourn our long-lost youth.

Know I’m not immortal,
but thought old age to delay.
These bones know cold of winter,
but long for warmth of May.

Two legs that I stand on
suffer weakness and have atrophied.
With each day’s awakening,
new niggling stabs prick my side.

