Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Because I am a Muslim,
Ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul,
ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul
And a loyal citizen of the USA
I am wondering if my country soon
will just lock me away?

Ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul,
ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul
All my life I have lived with
the sideways glances
Whenever I travel through my town
Far too often smile I give is returned with angry frowns

Yes, Salat has me pray
Five times per day!
Wudu is a cleansing
Before I present myself to Him
Al-fajr before the sun rise
Al-zuhr at middle of the day
Toward Mecca I face
And feel His presence pouring in!

My ritualistic movements
Help bond me to my kin
My prayers are not for Allah’s benefit
But help to wash away my sins

Muhammad, greatest prophet,
Brought Allah’s words to us
But clash between East and West
Is getting mighty rough

For years Jews have been the scapegoats
And suffered at hands of Western man
Extermination solution was evil Hitler’s plan

During this great crisis
Which we all call World War Two
The USA also had illegal pogroms too

If one was Japanese,
Regardless of how long he had been here
Sent away to concentration camps
Where they were kept for years

Mormons had their trek west
As they fled from rampant wall of hate
Had to skedaddle to the desert
Before it was too late

From Algeria, great grandfather traveled
Across seas to a foreign land
We were all taught to embrace the West
While still being a Muslim man!

I have lived always with suspicion
Cast upon me for my faith
But this call that I’m now hearing
Is a top down call to hate

I am both American and Muslim
There is no conflict in this fact
Vilifying my religion is unconstitutional act

We were welcomed here
By Lady Liberty seventy-six years ago
Great grandfather survived the tempest
and arrived at golden door

I know each man is my brother
Allah wishes all to live as kin
But it appears that hate and fear
In US is about to win

Because I am a Muslim,
Ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul,
ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul
And a loyal citizen of the USA
I am wondering if my country soon
will just lock me away?
Ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul,
ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul
ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul,
ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul, ul

