Tags

, , ,

I am old wave, old news, old hat
I’m way past my peak, no denying that
We all have life cycle, only get one month of May
Unless we die young, grow feeble and gray

Only constant is change, is saw old as dirt
Change rate may be tectonic but it does subvert
All of the people, institutions and things
Will be swept away, whether paupers or kings

But out with the old and in with the new
It’s just part of the process, all things earn adieu
Life has time and measure, good and bad weather
And each in the end becomes naught but worms’ pleasure

People, nations, continents, gods
All slip away, throw in their cards
Easy to be sanguine when taking long view
It’s happening now to both me and you

Death throws and upheavals seldom are calm
When one era is ending sure to be maelstrom
We entitled classes been looking around
State of our union it sure does confound

For five centuries, we white men prevailed
Now laws and demographics are causing a wail
Bullwhip is ripping through our daily lives
Sine wave causing changes that many despise

But out with the old and in with the new
Is just part of the process, all things earn adieu
It’s not for our pleasure world has time and weather
And each in the end becomes naught but worms’ pleasure

Behind castle walls cowards tremble in fright
Hordes that are different cause fear to ignite
Faced with the choice of progress or retreat
Put faith in old patterns long obsolete

Not saying it’s easy to be swept away
But this ain’t no game of checkers we’ve put in play
Each thing that is new to you under the sun
Is a chance to grow; so why turn and run?

I am old wave, old news, old hat
I’m way past my peak, no denying that
One thing I’ll fight for till my dying day
Is refusing to let fear just sweep me away

