Tags

, , , , ,

I didn’t want to kill him but he was giving deadly chase
I watched him gun down a guy; he knew I was witness to his case
I knew him from the neighborhood, I’d seen Big Lou around
You can bet your ass I skedaddled, headed for higher ground

Oh, yeah, I ran away, wishing I could fly!

Scuttlebutt that I heard was that Lou was after me
Tried to stay on the down low; made myself scarce as I could be
Less than a week later Lou and I are looking eye to eye
He called out my name but I ran away wishing I could fly

Oh, yeah, I ran away, wishing I could fly!

I was a skinny scrapper, Lou was big and mean
I hid behind the dumpster; bit my lip to stifle screams
Back there in the wasteland was some re-bar iron
I picked up that re-bar and allowed my fear to govern

Oh, yeah, I ran away, wishing I could fly!

Fearful for my life I struck him till my shoulder burned
I was in most dire straits and had nowhere to turn
He was bloodied, he was still; but still frightened me
Before the sun had set you’re goddamned right I sure as hell did flee

Oh, yeah, I ran away, wishing I could fly!

One thousand miles later I exited that bus
Don’t know if Lou was dead or alive but away from him I rushed
Slowly my fears abated concerning both Lou and Johnny law
I’ve never been back to Poughkeepsie and fear slowly did withdraw

Oh, yeah, I ran away, wishing I could fly!

Twenty-five years later I’m no longer a young man
If Lou appeared on my doorstep you bet I’d do it all again
Oh, yeah, I ran away, wishing I could fly!
Oh, yeah, I ran away, wishing I could fly!

