Tags

, , , , , , ,

Anger that once ruled us no longer drives our lives
But there’s a world of difference between a roommate and a wife
Grateful for our truce and cessation of unholy war
But I miss your loving touch and long for so much more

Mariana chasm between palliation and pleasure
There is no special of the day; tasteless broth forever soup du jour
Agony I suffered like a man upon a cross
Has been replaced by void, I am thankful for the loss
To mantra of the cutters I do not adhere
I choose nothing over pain; yet still I shed such tears

There is no satisfaction in being a numb man
Golem who stumbles through his day without a master plan
World that once made me smile now quickly wears quite thin
I should be looking to the future but keep dreaming of where I’ve been
Wish that I could hold you, embrace you with all my might
But my heart can’t bear the strain and my strength is gone from sight

Anger that once ruled us no longer drives our lives
But there’s a world of difference between a roommate and a wife
Grateful for our truce and cessation of unholy war
But I miss your loving touch and long for so much more

Our satin sheeted bed where we once pulsed to paradise
Has been stripped away and our love has paid the price
Our dalliance in Eden’s garden where every month was sweetest May
Had grown thick with weeds, no longer did blossoms hold sway
Thankful nettle infested thickets that had become our bed
Have been cleared of thorns; sadly, nothing’s left in their stead

Here we’re stuck in grayest neutral with no forward nor reverse
Don’t know if lack of pain is a blessing or a curse
Ingesting tasteless nourishment is hard thing to get down
Swimming in passionless sea keeps me wondering if I’ll just drown
Mariana chasm between palliation and pleasure
Surely’s got me wondering how much more nothing I can endure

Anger that once ruled us no longer drives our lives
But there’s a world of difference between a roommate and a wife
Grateful for our truce and cessation of unholy war
But I miss your loving touch and long for so much more

