Tags

, , , , ,

Once when I ran from my life you chased after me
Even when I was guilty your love set me free
There are chains on my heart and locks round my soul
Fear the truth that sustained us was naught but fool’s gold

Emotions I’m feeling they cut like a knife
Swore to one another we’d be mated for life
But our world is crashing and I don’t know why
Swear thoughts of my failures leave me waiting to die

Our sweet ever after in Elysian fields
Was just fairy tale as cruel time has revealed
There’s no other woman, just made a failure of life
Lost hope that I’ll change and see a new light

Just smoking embers remain from passion once heated
You’re still a vision but I’m so defeated
Every day’s like the last, all have turned to pallid gray
Long ago saw demise of our frolic and play

Once when I ran from my life you chased after me
Even when I was guilty your love set me free
There are chains on my heart and locks round my soul
Fear the truth that sustained us was naught but fool’s gold

You’re all I have, I hate being so weak
Long to calm voices within but they loudly shriek
Wish I knew a way to go back to the start
Where love seemed so simple and we both knew our parts

But try as I might and wish as I may
My confusion and weakness grows stronger each day
There’s no elixir and there’s no magic pill
I’ve tried them all and they just leave me more ill

This time where I flee there’ll be no coming back
Guilty or innocent it will all fade to black
Just know in the end it was me and not you
And though I’ve left you my heart remains ever true

Once when I ran from my life you chased after me
Even when I was guilty your love set me free
There are chains on my heart and locks round my soul
Fear the truth that sustained us was naught but fool’s gold

