Tags

, , , ,

Leaving sunny pastures for land of snow and ice
I’m throwing in the towel on so called paradise
Good life all around me isn’t for me at all
I’m flying a white flag, draped in a funeral pall

Life with angry hornets who fly and flit and sting
Produces in me fear for what the future brings
Nest is overcrowded and each one looks for buzz
Lots of penetration but hardly any love

Superficial contacts described as lifelong friends
Have left me so confused just sit and scratch my head
All carry stilettos, swear they’re there just in case
Backstabbing’s so common fear every embrace

“No man is an island,” said Englishman John Dunne
Need to flee this mainland; it’s time for me to run
Shark infested waters aren’t my greatest concern
It’s sharks who live on land who decency just spurn

Saddle up my pony and head on out of here
My tails between my legs; what’s driving me is fear
Fear that I’ll turn into these beasts that walk as men
Milk of human kindness need to drink of again

Ride into the sunset seeing nothing but red
Leaving monsters behind, cept those within my head
Down, perhaps defeated, is caption for exit
Heading to wilderness I pray’s less desolate

Get on with my living is what I need to do
No time to lick my wounds, I’ve got to power through
Pray that change of landscape brings me a change of heart
Leaving this place behind’s not my end but my start

Soulful lonely hombre is what I have become
Run away or run to, yearn for a little love
I’m flying a white flag, draped in a funeral pall
Good life all around me isn’t for me at all