Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Time’s passing keeps advancing, every second of every day
When’d we change from being hell raisers to having hell to pay?

It was at your sweet Sixteen that I first took note of you
Your sultry eyes and inky hair gave you an exotic hue.
Looking like a princess of the Jewish American kind
You were demurely lovely, yeah, positively divine!

I was there with my main squeeze, friend from your early childhood
And though my eyes weren’t wandering you were surely looking good.
Kinda lacked the confidence that you later would acquire
But you were dear and loving; girl genuinely admired.

Time’s passing keeps advancing, every second of every day
When’d we change from being hell raisers to having hell to pay?

We hung in the same circles and I got to watch you grow
And though your smile was gorgeous you seemed to bear a great sorrow.
In quest for what you wanted couldn’t seem to find the key
And for a little while, poor thing! you even dated me.

Growing up can change a lot and, woman, it sure changed you
Lovely as you ever were your confidence’s grown too.
Though connection we once shared is now tenuous at best
I’m glad you’re in a good place and I pray all your days are blessed.

Time’s passing keeps advancing, every second of every day
When’d we change from being hell raisers to having hell to pay?

Trauma of high school drama’s now a faded memory
Looking back from such a distance it all seems so lovely
Not so much that we’ve found wisdom just that we’re too damn tired
Got no time or energy to get sucked into other’s mire

Though old age with its hard burdens is still far, far away
Forty times around the sun’s a trip, metaphorically
I ain’t got no crystal ball so the future I can’t see
But one thing that I’d bet on you’ll stay sweet and lovely

Time’s passing keeps advancing, every second of every day
When’d we change from being hell raisers to having hell to pay?

