Tags

, , , , , , ,

How terrible the sorrow that comes with letting go;
The hollow place within that really doesn’t show.
I smile when you’re watching because I love you
And I know the pain I’m feeling you are feeling too.

Lifetime we were promised ended far too soon;
Dreams are swept away too easily when love is entombed.
Empty nights of anguish, yearn so to hold her hand.
She’s no longer with us and I long to understand.

Understand how this could happen; God why take my child?
She was loving, she was giving and not always mild.
Longed to walk in Your light in her time on this green earth
But you called our daughter home far too soon after birth.

In my mind, I see her playing in idyllic fields,
Wrapped in His endless love where His glory is revealed.
But, oh, Lord and savior, this great burden that I bear
Is such an ever-present torment not lifted with prayer.

Hear my pleas, God my father, help me see Your light!
I know that she is with You, enraptured with Your sight.
I am just the mother of a child who is gone;
Fear I feel some agony like Your bloody crown of thorns.

Our mortal bodies are here but a moment before they are gone;
Forever with sweet Jesus hope to lift my voice in song.
But burden that weighs me down is a frightful lot;
Lord, help me through my sorrow and love what you’ve begot.

How terrible the sorrow that comes with letting go;
The hollow place within that really doesn’t show.
I smile when you’re watching because I love you
And I know the pain I’m feeling you are feeling too.

 

 

