Tags

, , , , , , ,

Since I was a baby Mama warned not to fly too high
That soaring in warm sunshine led to Icarus’ demise
Longing to stay grounded I let love flit across the sea
If I’d opened up my heart would my girl still be with me?

Blessed with sweetest April and I prayed she would always stay
Fear languid loving time’s been replaced by November gray
Hope is said to spring eternal, and love can conquer all
But glory of love’s blooming has succumbed to autumn’s fall

By fanning love’s fires, we produce flame of brightest blue
Yet, in fiercest blaze is when fuel’s most greedily consumed
I meant to stoke the fires, keep things purring right along
But for a lack of passion my sweet angel now has flown

Some swear stars up in the heavens is what controls our fate
I’ve no faith in astrology to make us love or hate
Some live for lustful fires, others long for love more pure
Fancied I had found a girl with whom great love would endure

Queer how fear of fire caused self-immolation
That thing I wanted most of all was thing I caused to run
Self remonstration, recrimination, sadness and grief
My companions now that accompany without surcease

She longed for succulent tsunamis and sweet sacred swims
In my fear to plumb the depths I refused to go all in
Our love ship has been grounded and she’s left me high and dry
Fear all alone on this island is where I’ll sadly die

The world’s a lonely place, we all need shelter from her storms
In this whole world how great the fool who destroys great love’s warmth
If you ever find a darling to love with all your might
Embrace her fully lest she slips away into the night

Since I was a baby Mama warned not to fly too high
That soaring in warm sunshine led to Icarus’ demise
Longing to stay grounded I let love flit across the sea
If I’d displayed my love would I still have my girl with me?

