Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Easily offended is something I am not
but Left’s use of word Right is simply poppycock.
A Universal Right, at least historically,
was not wealth redistributed under flag of “FREE!”

Independence preamble, back in seven-six,
sought life, liberty and pursuit of happiness.
Up in arms we told George Tyrant, “Don’t tread on us,”
and brought forth upon continent a nation robust.

Through the years, Constitution has been amended
in battle for greater and equal protection.
We’ve Right to assemble and thoughts to convey,
Thirteen made it illegal to own human slaves.

Intemperate was Nation’s Great Temperance Movement;
example of legal folly sans improvement.
Took twenty years into Twentieth Century
for women to be declared legal franchisees.

March of equality’s called for battles hard fought;
increased Human Rights is what’s been wrought.
Something’s been growing for last quarter-century,
rising expectation of getting things for free.

Acronym TANSTAAFL proclaims there’s no free lunch;
basic needs as Rights puts my panties in a bunch.
Rights given by Creator was how I was reared;
owed food and shelter from birth is rewrite most queer.

I’m not saying for a moment we should let folks starve
and I understand life can be both cruel and hard.
There’s an obligation to help folks earn their needs;
where’s logic in thought folks have Right to charity?

Fierce independence, individualism,
has slowly been replaced by collectivism.
Each from his abilities might be a great creed,
surely, we should teach folks how to meet their own needs.

Eons of fighting for equality denied
has been usurped by expectation of supplied.
We sit on the verge of either heaven or hell;
can Man survive as kept animal? Time will tell.

I’m an ancient fossil, from long past by-gone days,
but saying privileges are Rights gets me enraged.
New expectation, “What can country give to me?”
is slap in the face to late John F. Kennedy.

No man is an island, we’re each part of the whole;
Human Right to be a sponge? Simply criminal.
Times they are a changing, there’s nothing new in that;
it’s a natural question, “Why some folks live so phat?”

Class warfare, division, is surely on the rise;
think you got a Right to some of Uncle Sam’s pie?
I want it and you got it, so give it to me;
could lead to the destruction of The Land of the Free.

I want it and you got it so give it to me;
could lead to the destruction of The Land of the Free.
I want it and you got it so give it to me;
could lead to the destruction of The Land of the Free.

