Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ladder rungs I did ascend, in meandering way,
Have slipped from my fingers and now there’s hell to pay.
Muscles have grown flaccid, I’ve gone from lean to fat;
Must rise from the ashes, return to life’s combat.

Laurels I been resting on are all dried and cracked;
Bank account is in arrears, need to turn it black.
Greenbacks I collected, my money in the bank,
Now is so devalued, near zero it has shrank.

I been drifting aimlessly on life’s great big sea;
Fruit of inattention is sorry form of me.
Not a single puff of air to drive my sailboat,
Been stuck in the doldrums barely staying afloat.

Earth spins on its axis, one-thousand M-P-H,
Each day brings Future Shocks, how much can one man take?
Ant in Aesop ‘s fable stored for a rainy day,
What I’ve stored’s near worthless and I’ve got bills to pay.

Elbows dig, fingers rake, hungry mouths long to feed;
Ravaged is my strength as on uncaring ground I bleed.
Four new hungry mouths born each second of the day;
Rising tide of human sea’s sweeping me away.

White flag of surrender, towel of a pugilist,
Must not be my banner; now is the hour for fists.
Resurrection of spirit, now must be the time
Time to regain spirit that values upward climb.

I am torn and tattered but not yet in defeat,
Still poses the strength to rise from my knees to feet.
Scars that I am left with hide from the naked eye
But now is the moment to choose rebirth not die.

Ladder rungs I did ascend, in meandering way,
Have slipped from my fingers and now there’s hell to pay.
Muscles have grown flaccid, I’ve gone from lean to fat;
Must rise from the ashes, return to life’s combat.

