Tags

, , , , ,

Reflection in my mirror was enough to make me squeal.
My gut’s grown ginormous from daily snarfing nine square meals.
My belly does proceed me wherever it is I’ve went,
Need a new lifestyle cuz I’m way too corpulent.

As I beheld my image I declared, “It’s time for a change.”
Right there I swore a mighty oath! My body I’d rearrange.
You can see from my large middle that I truly love to eat:
Twice the man I used to be, I can no longer see my feet.

I declared, “I know folks call me fatty but I swear that’s about to end
Because starting on this very day I’m gonna work to find the thin.”

Too long have I been a sloth, but that’s behind me now.
I’m breaking out the kettlebells and cutting back on chow.
I’ll fight this fight cuz I’m a sight that should not be allowed
And I won’t quit until fat I have kowtowed!

I clung hard to a pullup bar to help my muscles grow
But from the weight of my lard-ass that bar began to bow.
Around me folks were staring in uncomprehending disbelief,
I was filled with self-disgust over having grown so massive.

Feeling humiliation’s barb, I was finished ‘fore I’d begun
When a gray-haired granny asked, “How’d you feel about a quick lesson?”

“Gotta start off easy, boy, don’tcha know?
Today we’ll plant a seed then watch it grow.
Little at a time is our best plan.
No time like the present to begin again.”

That little gray-haired granny, well, she sure showed me the ropes
And with her tender tutelage what began to grow was hope.
It took a couple decades for me to dig a hole this deep
But with hard work and perseverance good health is what I’ll reap.
Granny said:

“Gotta start off easy, boy, don’tcha know?
Today we’ll plant a seed then watch it grow.
Little at a time is our best plan.
No time like the present to begin again.”

 

 

