Tags

, , , ,

All I want to do is love you, son
Help you learn to walk then watch you run
Hope you know you’re apple of my eye
Gonna love ya, boy, till day I die

Incomparable is love I feel for you
You’re arrival here heart did renew
Your laughter is champagne that intoxicates
Watching you gives me hope and elates

Pray you have a soul both strong and pure
Strength to stand upright and to endure
Be merciful and mild but not meek
Display loving grace when you act and speak

Glory in the form you’re living in
Simple truth is physical’s not sin
Don’t fall for lie that flesh is corrupt
Stunted is he who pain does worship

Man’s value found in integrity
Seductive is black hole of hypocrisy
Blessed is the man who harvests peace
Wars against his anger without cease

So much of life I can’t comprehend
Fearful hate, of this there seems no end
Cacophonous cries of ignorance
Endless legions war over least offense

Life’s no bowl of cherries, peaches, cream
There are days when struggles make me scream
Burdens of life can be crushing weight
Count on me when things aren’t going great

All I want is to be worthy of your love
To cast off shackles I’m warning of
Hold you in my arms; we’re trembling
Will I hold you down or give you wings?

I think that you’ll bring out the best in me
Entrance in my life was destiny
Little boy, won’t you please hold my hand?
Teach me what it means to be a man

I’ve so little strength, I quake in fear
Swear I’ll do my best for you, my dear
World is such a huge uncertain place
Help me, God above, to love with grace

All I want to do is love you, son
Help you learn to walk then watch you run
Hope you know you’re apple of my eye
Gonna love ya, boy, till day I die

