Tags

, , , , ,

From high, rocky cliff they plunged into the ocean
Their two hands intertwined, hearts filled with emotion
Stood by an altar and dedicated their lives
Since that morning onward they’ve been husband and wife

Just two squirming puppies with cold, wet noses
Tumbled together till he finally proposes
Then two passionate children without any plan
Left the comforts of home and together they ran

Escaped to a new life in a far away town
They built a foundation that survived shaky ground
Bride took the reins and led husband by the halter
They shared rocky times but their love never faltered

After five years together created a son
And it wasn’t long after had another one
These years were stormy, they drifted on brutal seas
But together they fought for love and family

Life’s seldom easy, filled with deep troughs and high crests
Love birds worked together to feather their nest
In the flash of an eye two sons were in high school
Time driving forward is unalterable rule

Quick as an eye wink another decade does pass
Bride’s still vibrantly young but groom’s caught in morass
Woman he promised to cherish, honor and love?
Is his rock, his foundation, his unblemished dove

Love is not a constant and it’s surely not blind
But it has a great power just short of divine
In a lifetime together there’s tectonic change
Those who think love’s a madness are surely deranged

I’ve learned love is the glue and that love is the key
I’ve learned love’s not always romance and harmony
But what I’ve most learned in my decades with you
Is that you’ve been peerless standard, constant and true

You’ve been greatest blessing for two thirds of my life
Hit three sevens jackpot when you became my wife
I know words are cheap and sentiment’s easily said
But you’re dearer to me than even daily bread

Each day, darling blessing, you gift me with your smile
You’re my forever mate and my heart you’ve beguiled
Joy of my ever after is tied up with you
Gave me greatest gift of my life when you said, “I do.”

From high, rocky cliff they plunged into the ocean
Their two hands intertwined, hearts filled with emotion
Stood by an altar and dedicated their lives
Since that morning onward they’ve been husband and wife

