Tags

, , , ,

“There’s no reason why I called you, no reason at all;
a simple longing to hear your voice was only purpose for my call…
I guess I’m doing fine… Yeah, I miss you too…
No, won’t see you today, but I hope it will be soon.”

Words I prepare are banal, meaningless and trite,
But though the words lack substance still love you with all my might.
I love you for your strength, for your patience and your verve;
I wish you had the better part of me, the part that you deserve.

I know you face the hard job of being one who’s strong
but if you think it’s easy being weak I assure you that you’re wrong.
I know you deserve much better than what’s left of me
when all I’ve left to offer is what’s left from bankruptcy.

I hate that I am slowly drifting out on doldrum sea
and that you have to watch as I slip away listlessly.
We once stood as equals, two pillars, back to back
now for all burdens and hard lifting it’s you who must take up all my slack.

We both know the truth though neither says the words out loud,
for throwing light in certain rooms is simply not allowed.
You still have strength to fly, to soar high and far away;
wonder if it’s pity, love or for my sake that you choose to stay.

Do you find me otiose, unnecessary,  superfluous?
A malignant tumor, just a rambling empty husk?
It must get so annoying tasting your own blood,
while counting the sutures in your masticated tongue.

Every day I make a vow to be man that you deserve
and each and every day from righteous path I detour and swerve.
I don’t know how much longer you’ll consider yourself mine
but I fear the day is coming when we two are no longer intertwined.

But your phone it merely rang, you did not pick up at all.
All my feelings, thoughts and words on no ears did fall.
I didn’t leave a message but phone log will tell you that I tried
and whispering doubts and fears have me wondering if from me you’re trying to hide.

“There’s no reason why I called you, no reason at all;
a simple longing to hear your voice was only purpose for my call…
I guess I’m doing fine… Yeah, I miss you too…
No, won’t see you today, but I hope it will be soon.”

