Tags

, , , ,

Ring of my ears is all that I hear;
Know all’s in my head, both pain and fear.
No one’s gonna hurt me, no one’s here at all;
The trauma has passed that’s forced me to crawl.

He entered the store pointed gun at clerk’s head,
Could see her name-tag and Gail Anne it read.
He wore a mask as black as his soul,
“Hurry up, bitch,” was how he did cajole.

Command that he spoke was perfectly clear,
“Give me the money if you wanna get out of here.”
Like a deer in the headlights she did hesitate;
With his gun as a club he did remonstrate.

I was scared for my life but scene was too much;
This thug of a man treating young girl mighty rough.
I’m no warrior, I’m not a brawler,
Still, I couldn’t just stand there and watch while he mauled her.

With his eyes on Gail Anne I crouched to attack,
Next thing I felt was searing pain in my back.
Another bystander was providing aid
And with his pistol’d spat out fusillade.

Chaos erupted and spewed through the air;
Bullets were flying, going everywhere.
I only took one, though it severed my spine;
Gail Anne and the thug both were hit several times.

It was in the hospital where I was rushed
That I awakened and learned of the loss.
Gail Anne was dead but the thief had pulled through,
Story of world’s worst marksman now filled the news.

There was praise from the right, condemnation from left
And for my lost self-ambulation I was bereft.
Stuck in a quandary and angry protest:
How did our land revert to the wild, wild, wild west?

Marksman was acquitted of criminal charges,
Swore he’d do it again if circumstances called it.
Thug’s doing time in penitentiary,
Life sentence of wheelchair is what Mark left me.

I try to move on and count my blessings,
Not dwell too much on legions of free-lance Hessians
That are out there armed and itching to fight,
Hiding behind their Second Amendment rights.

In dark of the night when I’m jolted awake
Wonder if Mark’ll ever admit his mistake.
He killed an innocent girl and crippled me;
Just collateral damage in land of the free?

Lawsuit that’s pending for harm he has wrought,
The Lombard Law Shekels with which I’ll be bought?
Are nary a comfort for legs they replace;
And can’t undo destruction of Mark’s feckless haste.

Ring of my ears is all that I hear;
Know all’s in my head, the pain and fear.
No one’s gonna hurt me, no one’s here at all;
The trauma has passed that’s forced me to crawl.

