Tags

, , , ,

For quite some time been a father
In fact been blessed by grandson
State of my bones are all aching
Still my wife insists that I run

She forces me to stay active
Swears that it’s good for my health
I have no doubt she is correct
But no way nostrum she’s pushing’s top shelf

Each morning in pain my joints protest
And ask, “What the hell did you do?”
I can’t blame it all on the running
For my runs are infrequent and few

This year on Dad’s Day did a five-K
Which translates to three-point-one miles
As we drove to the race’s location
Wife admonished me to smile

Plastered a smile on my face
That was neither sincere nor real
My darling’s eyes looked to heaven
As she whispered the word, “Schlemiel”

At start line we racers queued up
In center pack we did wait
Before the start gun was fired
Closer to the front my wife did migrate

Had a haphazard countdown
there at John Chestnut Park
Blast from an air gun released us
As on our footrace did embark

We racers were quite motley
Represented entire Bell Curve
There were a few ferocious warriors
But most were a bit more reserved

From my place in race’s middle
I proceeded to bounce along
I eschew wearing headphones
But was serenaded by birdsong

For first mile, I just sat in
And enjoyed the scenery
Nature is full of great beauty
Including babes who dress skimpily

Arrived at the first mile marker
And at my watch I did glance
Chagrined to see my slow time there
So I increased my rate of advance

There were quite a few racers
Doing the run walk alternate
Women a generation my junior
My motivation they did stimulate

One mom ran along with her stroller
And we two went back and forth
She paused at the water station
And from her I slowly slid north

With less than a mile remaining
I spotted a man ’bout my age
I noted that he was walking
And felt certain him I soon would upstage

Seems he was a tricky old rascal
A race walking practitioner
Though my heart was pounding mightily
It seemed his lead was secured

For ten minutes I followed
Digging down both hard and deep
As a reward for my intense effort
Closer to walker I managed to creep

It was with supreme effort
That I showed race walker my back
For the last hundred meters
Feared I might have a heart attack

My darling at finish awaited
She had a cold drink in her hand
I walked away with my water
Because I could barely stand

Each morning in pain my joints protest
And ask, “What the hell did you do?”
I can’t blame it all on the running
For my runs are infrequent and few

For quite some time been a father
In fact been blessed by grandson
State of my bones are all aching
Still my wife insists that I run

She forces me to stay active
Swears that it’s good for my health
I have no doubt she is correct
But no way nostrum she’s pushing’s top shelf

