Tags

, , ,

Greyhound BusJohn twisted his upper lip to the right side of his face. “I’ve got a little,” he said, reaching for his tattered bag, the Combos and milk. “They kind of have to last me until we get to Jackson.”

“You getting off at Jackson too?” Loki asked.

“What? No. That’s a stopover. Is that where you head out to Oklahoma?”

“Yeah. So, what, the bus keeps going to Chicago?”

“Memphis. I’ve got to change buses in Memphis,” he said opening the Combos and offering her the bag.

“I have to get off in Jackson. I can buy you some more food there if you’d like.”

“I don’t mean to be stingy, it’s just that I’m pretty strapped for cash,” he conceded.

“Yeah, yeah. I get it. Don’t worry, I don’t eat much. Here, how much did these cost you?” she asked, looking at the bag’s price tag. “One-ninety-five? Here, here’s two dollars,” she added, reaching into her right front pants pocket and pulling out a few bills. “That make us square?”

“You don’t have to do-” John started.

“Oh, just stop!” she interrupted. “I’m hungry, you’re broke, you’ve got food, I’ve got money. Well, sort of,” she added raising and then lowering her eyebrows. “I got more money’n you.”

“That’s not very hard,” he replied, taking the bills and slipping them in his pants pocket.

“Yeah, I figured. I think you really need to see about having that wife of yours take you in. You aren’t doing so good on your own, are you?” she asked, popping two Combos into her mouth. “Want some?” she offered.

“Thanks,” John answered, taking a handful. “I just don’t want to be a burden.”

“So, what are you now? A husband who’s never around? Fish or cut bait as Daddy would say. In or out. Poop or get off the pot. Think about it from her point of view. That’s why I divorced my husband.”

“Why? Because he was never home?”

“No, because I wasn’t really home. I married him because he was hunky and I loved him. Turns out I love women more so I dropped him for his sake. That way he could move on instead of us playing let’s pretend like we’re a happy couple.”

“You didn’t love him?”

“I just said I did. I still do. We just weren’t right for each other. I didn’t know until I met Rae-Rae, then I knew that even though men are great women are even greater. I moved on so he could too.”

“How’d that work out for him? Your husband?”

“Josh? Well he didn’t get it at first, then he was alright and then he was upset because I got a decent divorce settlement. Point is he’s moved on because I let him. What are you doing to your wife?”

John raised his eyebrows and let them fall. “Excellent question,” he answered. “You like chocolate milk?”

