Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

     A wise lady sat catty-corner next to me; we were mighty close, my right brushed her left knee. She said, “Lo siento.”

     I said, “It’s all good,” looked into my sad eyes, knew she understood.

    Offered me a sonreír, I returned her smile; asked me, “Como has estado?” pondered that a while.

     “Guess I’m doing better than when we last spoke, sorrow is subsiding, seem to have found some hope.”

     “Eso es bien,” she punctuated with three nods, “every day I do pray for you; when I talk to God.”

     Mis ojos did tear up, way they do when someone’s kind; replied, “That’s mighty nice,” then our hands intertwined.

     Held hands but for an instant before we both let go, she patted my cheek, whispered, “Son, release your sorrow.” With her simple words grew a tension in my chest, wanted so to obey but this I too repressed.

    “You know she’s still there? Hasn’t left my side? She’s my anchor and my rock, she’s love personified. Don’t know why she does it, staying with a man like me? Every day I wake in terror that this day she’ll ask to be free.”

    La dama sabia shushed me with her finger to my lips, “Tu novia is a lady who loves in both good times and hardship. She will never leave you, you have been joined as man and wife. Marriage vows should last forever; forever does not end because of strife.”

     Couples pledge to stay together through bad times and good but often hardships prove sweet vows to be falsehoods. This señora antigua believed in marriage vows but I couldn’t help but doubt them in world of here and now. “Marriages should be forever but that’s not the way life works; Lotta people out there who adios with loss of perks. I know she’s a special lady but I hate to let her down; this sorrow washes over me till I fear I’m gonna drown.

     “Believe in her, muchacho. She will always have your back. There is no quit within her and her love will never crack.” We said hasta luego as we took our leave. Never been one to hide emotions, wear heart upon my sleeve. I know that though I’m hurting, a million fold I have been blessed for I have dear and loyal companion to which I glowingly attest. I pray that one day soon I’ll again be man that she deserves but until that day arrives in her I trust without reserve.

     A wise lady sat catty-corner next to me we were mighty close, my right brushed her left knee. She said, “Lo siento.” I said, “It’s all good,” looked into my sad eyes, knew she understood.

 

