Tags

, , , ,

Evicted from your embrace I am cursed to walk alone
You, my darling angel, were both my heart and home
I banked on a sure thing but somehow rolled snake eyes
Now I’m drifting on the ocean with heartache as my reprise

Sand I built upon has washed out to sea
My bedrock and salvation has deserted me
Left me for another, though she swears that it’s not so
I wanted so to stop her but I just watched her go

Hourglass of my life seems cracked beyond repair
Fast-track I imagined turned out to go nowhere
Both of us were broken and each the other helped to mend
But our happy ever after in two you chose to rend

My inclination is to wallow in doldrums of despair
Though my boat is listing I’m determined to go somewhere
You’ve left me wounded, my hamstrings you’ve slashed
but I shall rise up from the charred and ruined ash

You’ve left me injured with burns of third degree
I will salve them, I’ll live again; this pyre won’t be my end
A phoenix dies and through fire is reborn
To reemerge even stronger, to this I am sworn.

Evicted from your embrace I am cursed to walk alone
You, my darling angel, were both my heart and home
I banked on a sure thing but somehow rolled snake eyes
Now I’m drifting on the ocean with heartache as my reprise

