Tags

, , , , , ,

Wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, baby, wait.

What you try to say as you walk away from me? Are you saying you don’t love me and that I should let you be? Am I supposed to follow or grovel on my knees? Darling, I can’t read your mind; know I ain’t no Mephistopheles.

I have scaled some mighty mountains, I have sailed across vast seas, all of this I did gladly because you’re the one I seek. I put you on a pedestal so high made your nose bleed, you loved it when I chased you and for your loving I did plead.

Like Oz behind his curtain fate was playing sleight of hand; you loved me as a sycophant don’t reject me as a man. I’m still wrapped around your finger and you’re still my baby girl but moment seas get rough a white flag you unfurl?

Wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, baby, wait.

White flag that you’re flying is a towel for throwing in; seems as soon as seas got heavy you act like you took one on the chin. When we rolling on the ocean gonna hit those troughs and crests, thinking life’s a pleasure cruise is what got us in this mess.

Into every life a little rain is gonna fall, you think every day you Cinderella dancing with prince at the ball? You dreaming of floating, wearing slippers made of glass? You wear those slippers in the mosh pit gonna wind up on your ass.

You wanna have it both ways like some dizzy fairy-tale, know that’s not real life, just some fantasy grown stale. Think I don’t see your faults? Girl, I seen them all along, just because you ain’t perfect don’t mean from my pedestal you’ll fall.

Wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, baby, wait.

I know we hit a tight spot where the goings mighty rough but that don’t mean it’s time to quit; we gotta keep on going because we two are plenty tough. I know you like the Pooh Bear and ballads of love but now’s the time to fight for us, now’s time of push coming to shove.

Girl, we got the right stuff, we can reignite our jets, if there’s a force stronger than love then I ain’t met it yet. We gotta hunker down, we must not walk away, you know that we can whip ’em, girl, yeah we know how to play.

I’m not some knight in armor and you’re no damsel in distress, we both are strong as iron and we can pass this test. Back to back we can fight, we can face our foes and win but nothing good is gonna happen if you throw that towel in.

Wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, baby, wait.
Wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, baby, wait.
Wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, baby, wait.
Wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, wait, baby, wait, wait, baby, wait.

