Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dismounting from his bike as he stood in the Lehn’s driveway at the bottom of Garth Court, Dan Inks asked, “So? What do you think? Helpful?” regarding the short, guided, bicycle tour of the adjacent Wimbledon neighborhood on which he’d led his neighbor Connie, her daughter Samantha, and Connie’s father Cal.

“I think it was great!” Sam enthused as she removed her bicycle helmet. “I didn’t know all that stuff was back there.”

“And which of the ‘stuff’ did you like the best?” Connie asked as she also slipped her helmet off.

“Hmm. I liked the playground, I liked the walking trail, I liked the little lakes with their fountains, I liked the woods, and I liked the fairy treasure.”

“But not the twisty, always make a right turn, never get lost bike ride?” Dan asked.

“Oh, sure. It was good, and that’s how I learned about all those cool things.”

“The means to an end,” Dan intoned.

“Sure?” Samantha replied.

“Thank you so much, Dan,” Connie said, nodding and smiling. “It’s great to know all that’s right next door and that we can walk or ride over there and feel comfortable with Sam-Sam playing with her friends over there too. It’ll help a lot.”

“Excellent,” Dan said, smiling and nodding, “excellent.”

“And speaking of the woods?” Cal interjected. “We gonna git or what?”

“I’m ready!” Sam said.

“By ‘we’ I assume you don’t mean me?” Dan replied. “Sounds like a family outing to me, you don’t need a third wheel, or in this case a fourth!”

“No, you’re right,” Connie said, “not about you not being welcome to come along, but about being a third wheel. You two go ahead,” she said to her father and daughter, “but I’ve got stuff I have to get to.”

“Well, Sammy Sosa,” Cal said, “we can put our bikes away and git, your mama said so.”

“Who’s Sammy Sosa?”

“Who’s Sammy Sosa?!” Cal said, feigning shock. “Why, one of the best major league baseball hitters of all time! He played for the Chicago White Sox and the Cubs! He played for twenty-years, and I can’t tell you how many records he broke. One heck of a batter, that’s for sure!”

“Okay,” Sam said with a shrug.

“Let’s get the bikes put away,” Cal said with a nod, “I’m going to make a quick pitstop then we can go exploring in the hundred-acre-woods. Dan? Thank you so much! This morning’s ride makes me feel much better concerning being able to get some exercise in and the ride this afternoon was great. Now I have places to go exploring with my favorite 11-year-old grandchild. Thanks!”

“Absolutely. Glad to do it. I’m up and at it most every morning at 6:15 this time of year,” Dan replied. “You want to go again tomorrow morning or wait a few days?”

“Uh, I think tomorrow,” Cal said nodding his head, “can I get back to you later?”

“Absolutely. Unless it’s raining my plans is to head out at 6:15 so just let me know.”

“Thank you so much, that’s very generous of you; will do. Sammy? Think we’ll find Eeyore out in the woods?”

“Don’t know, one way to find out!”

“I like that answer. Okay, put the bikes away, quick pitstop, and then we can go.”

With your cellphone,” Connie replied, emphasizing ‘with.’

“You got it, Mama Bear. With my cellphone. Baby Bear? Let’s vamoose!”

“Thank you, Dan!” Sam said, waving at her neighbor as the Lehns rolled their bikes to the garage, opened the door, and exited.

Waving to his neighbors, Dan sighed, smiled, and plopped his helmet back on his head and then coasted from the Lehn’s driveway to his own. He pedaled up the short incline, rolled his GT Traverse bicycle into his garage from the side door and, after placing his helmet on its shelf, hung it up next to his Trek racing bike. Checking his watch he bit his lower right lip and said to himself, “Eleven o’clock. Tahnee may not even be boating yet,” before slipping his cycling shoes off and slipping into his kitchen.